top of page

Chakra 4: Unlock Your Heart

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra or the Anahata. The color green is connected with this love chakra and is symbolized by a twelve-petal lotus. The Anahata chakra is located in the chest at your heart or cardiac plexus. It is associated with the thymus gland, heart, lungs, skin, hands, and circulatory system. Physically, this chakra governs our equilibrium and overall well being, while emotionally it supports compassion, tenderness and complex emotions. It is the centre from which feelings of love originate and through which we emotionally relate to others.

An icon depicting the symbol for the fourth chakra
The Anahata chakra

Love is essential in the Anahata chakra, as we consider this chakra to be connected to air as an element. Many of the issues one might encounter if the Anahata is blocked or closed include: disorders of the heart, lungs, breasts, or arms. Individuals that have reported issues with shortness of breath, circulation problems, immune deficiency, tension between the shoulder blades, pain in their chest, or asthma might be suffering from a blocked Anahata chakra. Others have experienced disconnection from their body due to experiences of rejection, abandonment, loss, shaming, constant criticism, divorce, death of a loved one, sexual or physical abuse, betrayal, unacknowledged grief, or abuse to any other chakra.

The silhouette of a woman with radiating chakra colors throughout her body.

There can also be issues of isolation, loneliness, depression, fear of intimacy or relationships. These are all possible signs of a blocked or closed Anahata chakra. If this chakra's challenges have landed for you the work that needs to be accomplished here is: breathing exercises, journaling, work with your arms - reaching out and taking in - or psychotherapy: specifically working with relationships, emotional release, and forgiveness. Affirmation is one way to aid the clearing of some of these blockages. The affirmation I would like you to focus on is: “ I Love”


Starting out loud, vocalize:

"I love who I am. I forgive myself and others. I am here to love and be loved. The world loves me, indeed. My heart flows with loving kindness and compassion."

A green flow of light to illustrate an aura
Focus on the healing green aura surrounding your heart

A meditation to support your healing of the Anahata chakra is:

Visualize the qualities of love...compassion... understanding... forgiveness... and imagine these fundamental energies streaming into your fourth chakra. As you breathe, feel the green aura surrounding your heart and lungs and flowing through your bloodstream.

Sadness, loneliness and hatred are dissolved. You radiate loving kindness to the world. Every inhalation... every exhalation ... feel that green energy enveloping your body from root to crown.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page